End-of-Year Book-It Awards

The End-of-the-Year Book-It Awards Assembly was held on Thursday, April 14th.  Book-It promotes families reading together.  Elementary students participated in the “Get Fired Up About Reading” program from October through March completing at-home free reading as they worked to meet their monthly goals.  Those students meeting their monthly goals participated in a Mystery Celebration at the end of each month.  These celebrations included:  dance party, classroom campout, balloon-o-rama, minute-to-win-it challenges, board games and puzzle palooza, and extra recess.  Students who met their goals for at least 5 out of the 6 months of Book-It received a certificate of achievement.  Students certainly were very “Fired Up” to read with 98% of our elementary students earning certificates this year.  Book order coupons were presented to the top two readers in each class.  Several fun prizes given away to lucky drawing winners.  All students receiving a certificate of achievement were given a free book and will participate in a Fun Day on May 4th.   Our very own Husky made a special appearance to help reveal the surprise event. The day will include carnival games, inflatables, and a picnic lunch.  

Our program volunteers were recognized at the assembly:  Jen Vrbka, Rachel Siffring, Jenny Reppert, Kaylyn Pearson, Christa Ruth, and Crystal Zimmerman.  These community members have given so much of their time each month to help with the Book-It program.  They assist with totaling books and points, and handing out treats and pizza coupons each month.  Their dedication to our students is very much appreciated!  

On behalf of the staff and Book-It volunteers I would like to extend our thanks to all of the parents who made this reading program a success for so many of our elementary students.  Taking time to read to and with your child is what makes growth and learning possible.  

Top Readers 2021-22

K Nolan Noyd

K Orion Waite

1st Lana Kooyman

1st Lincoln Eaton

2nd Hadyn Nickolite

2nd        Piper Glatter

3rd Ridley Cromer

3rd Londyn Dutton-Moffard

4th Braxton Augustin

4th Kierslyn Cattau

5th Layla Waite

5th Wyatt Manwarren